Team Canada Set to Compete at 2019 WBSC U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup

2019 WBSC U19 Womens Worlds

Irvine, Calif. – The Canadian Junior Women’s National Softball Team is ready to compete at the 2019 WBSC U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup from August 10-17 in Irvine, Calif. Team Canada will open the tournament with a doubleheader on Sunday, August 11 taking on the Netherlands at 8:00am PDT (11:00am EDT) followed by Chinese Taipei at 12:30pm PDT (3:30pm EDT).

The red and white will complete the Opening Round with a matchup against New Zealand at 5:30pm PDT (8:30pm EDT) on Monday August 12, with the Super Round beginning on August 13.

Canada is coming off back-to-back fourth place finishes at the 2015 and 2017 WBSC U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup. The 2019 event will feature a total of 16 (sixteen) teams divided into four groups. Following the opening round, the top two teams from each group will advance to the Super Round while the two bottom teams from each group will move to the Placement Round. The teams with the two best records at the end of the Super Round will play for Gold, while the two next best records will play for Bronze.

The list of countries competing at the 2019 WBSC U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup are: Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Czech Republic, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, South Africa and the United States.

Live scoring and streaming will be available through the tournament website.

ATHLETES

FIRST NAME LAST NAME HOMETOWN
Lauren Benson Surrey, B.C.
Megan Duclos Saint-Eustache, Que.
Mackenzie Egan Vaudreuil-Dorion, Que.
Kendra Falby Tampa, Fla.
Jada Gowanlock Mississauga, Ont.
Hayley Grice Surrey, B.C.
Madelyn Hickingbottom Glen Williams, Ont.
Kianna Jones Surrey, B.C.
Rebecca Jones Toronto, Ont.
Katie Korstrom Abbotsford, B.C.
Alexis Lucyshyn Calgary, Alta.
Cameryn Maykut Winnipeg, Man.
Grace Messmer Surrey, B.C.
Nicole Rivait Oakville, Ont.
Samantha Ryan Monroe, N.Y.
Mia Valcke St. Marys, Ont.
Allyse Volpe Scarborough, Ont.

COACHING STAFF

POSITION NAME HOMETOWN
Head Coach Keith Mackintosh Melfort, Sask.
Assistant Coach Trevor Ethier Saskatoon, Sask.
Assistant Coach Melissa Finley London, Ont.
Assistant Coach Tiffany Jordan Guelph, Ont.
Video Coach Glenn Boles St. Catharines, Ont.
Athletic Therapist Nikki Antonopoulos Caledon, Ont.
Team Leader Haylee O’Neill Oakville, Man.

The post Team Canada Set to Compete at 2019 WBSC U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup appeared first on Ontario PWSA.

from Ontario PWSA https://ift.tt/2Z6MdKK
via IFTTT

Leave a Comment